How to Read and Write Twitter Part 2

Part 2 of what looks to be a 3 part series on the “twitter language.”

AFAIK–As far as I know I have seen this used in instant messaging as well.

CC —CC’s carbon copy. Used the same way as email or a paper document except that it is followed by the twitter handle of the cc user. For Example CC @DavidFlom

CX–Correction When a tweet is sent out immediately after with some kind of correction…in my case it seems to be spelling error that need to be corrected most often.

DM Direct message. A way to privately message someone who is following you on Twitter. It is the only way to have non public (private) conversation. For example “DM me for more info.” I would not send any personal information in a DM…follow the same rules as you would for email,more information is here.

FF–#FF stands for “Follow Friday,” It is followed by a list of  Twitter users using the @ and is an endorsement by you for your twitter followers to follow the accounts listed in the tweet. I have not participated in this Friday tradition I prefer keep the people I am following fairly small, more information is here.

HT–The old hat tip a way to give a shout out to the person who originally shared content that you are tweeting, and is typically followed by the twitter account.  For example HT @davidflom for the #cbj information.

ICYMI–In case you missed it I have seen this used in instant messaging as well.

MM– Music Monday This has pretty much died off, twtter accounts would post MM followed by the music they were listening to at that time.

MT or MRT Modified tweet or modified retweet. It is  used to show that you’ve edited the original tweet, usually due to space restrictions.

More to come in the next  post on twitter, let me know if I have missed any symbols or abbreviations.

-Dave

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • twitters followers  On July 24, 2013 at 3:55 am

    This is a great tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere.

    Short but very precise info… Thanks for sharing this
    one. A must read post!

  • http://appscannon.com  On July 28, 2013 at 9:30 am

    I am not certain where you’re getting your info, but great topic. I needs to spend some time finding out more or figuring out more. Thanks for wonderful info I used to be on the lookout for this information for my mission.

  • Dave  On July 28, 2013 at 11:56 am

    Great Idea, I will do a post on photo sharing with twitter.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

